top of page

Formula E: What's New with Season 6?

Hello and welcome to another ChargeSmart blog where we cover everything that's trending with electric vehicles! Today, we will be previewing Season 6 of Formula E which starts later tonight.

We can't wait to see what this season's new teams, drivers and tracks bring to this electrifying series.

New Teams

The biggest news in the lead up to this season is the fact that we will have two new teams on the grid. Two of the German giants, Mercedes and Porsche will now be throwing their hat in the ring for a shot at the Formula E title. Mercedes have absorbed the team from HWA Racelab who are a company that build components for Mercedes' AMG and EQ line of cars. Porsche on the other hand have developed their car and brought together a team from scratch, the team will be called Tag Heuer Porsche. Apart from that, the Nio FE team has now been sold to Lisheng Racing who have rebranded it to the Nio 333 Formula E team!

New Drivers

This seasons features many changes to driver lineups of teams as compared to last season. One of the biggest moves of the season was the transfer of last season's runner up Antonio Felix da Costa to DS Techeetah from BMW i Andretti. BMW have replaced da Costa with last season's Geox rookie, Maxi Gunther. Geox Dragon have signed two Formula E rookies this season in the form of kiwi Brendon Hartley and Nico Muller. The two new teams have also signed one rookie and one experienced Formula E driver. Mercedes EQ chose to keep HWA driver Stoffel Vandoorne who will be joined by F2 champion Nyck de Vries. Porsche on the other hand signed DS Techeetah driver Andre Lotterer who will be joined by Porsche factory driver Neel Jani! In addition to these changes, Nio 333 have signed Chinese race Ma Qing Hua who will be joined by Oliver Turvey who drove for Nio last season! The last new addition is in the form of British endurance driver James Calado who will race alongside Kiwi Mitch Evans for Panasonic Jaguar Racing! The lineups for Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler, Mahindra, Nissan e.Dams, Envision Virgin and Venturi Racing all remain unchanged.

New Tracks

This season features the addition of two new tracks which will replace two outgoing ones. The Swiss, Hong Kong and Monaco ePrix are all out, Monaco is held bienially so it will be back next season! The new ePrix will be held in Seoul, South Korea and Jakarta, Indonesia. Indonesia is rumoured to be a one-off event while Seoul have signed a contract for a race to be held there over the next five seasons. The Seoul track is pictured above and looks exciting enough to replace Bern from alst season! Along with that, this season will start with a double header in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia and will finish mid next year with another double header in London, England! London was chosen as the venue for the end of season double header this time around as compared to New York City last season! New York will still remain on the calendar but will only get one race this time.

There's a lot to look forward to with Season 6. New teams, drivers and tracks will surely create some new rivalries which will give Formula E the same exciting edge that has made it so popular in the motorsport world in such a short time! We can't wait to witness what electric power can do once again as Formula E returns to our screens tonight.

Coverage of the first race starts tonight at 8:30PM NZDT.

Thanks for reading! Make sure to like us on Facebook, Instagram and listen to our podcasts!

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page